Happy Birthday Jane Austen

In honour of what would be Jane Austen’s 239th birthday, my blog today consists of not my own words but a collection of hers. 

‘If I loved you less, I might be able to talk about it more.”

Jane Austen, Emma

“She is tolerable, but not handsome enough to tempt me, and I am in no humor at present to give consequence to young ladies who are slighted by other men.”
Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

“…when pain is over, the remembrance of it often becomes a pleasure.”
Jane Austen, Persuasion

“I do not think I ever opened a book in my life which had not something to say upon woman’s inconstancy. Songs and proverbs, all talk of woman’s fickleness. But perhaps you will say, these were all written by men.”

“Perhaps I shall. Yes, yes, if you please, no reference to examples in books. Men have had every advantage of us in telling their own story. Education has been theirs in so much higher a degree; the pen has been in their hands. I will not allow books to prove anything.”
Jane Austen, Persuasion

“The person, be it gentlemen or lady, who has not pleasure in a good novel, must be intolerably stupid.”
Jane Austen, Northanger Abbey

“Time will explain.”
Jane Austen, Persuasion

“Oh! Do not attack me with your watch. A watch is always too fast or too slow. I cannot be dictated to by a watch.”
Jane Austen, Mansfield Park

And last but not least, a nugget of motivation for all the writers out there battling against writers block;

“I am not at all in a humor for writing; I must write on till I am.”
Jane Austen

Do you feel there are better demonstrations of why the writers wit and wisdom have left her as one of the worlds most respected authors?

Happy Birthday Jane and thank-you.

Leave a Reply

